Dubuque Branch NAACP



DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. TRIBUTE

ESSAY AND MULTI-MEDIA AWARDS 15 JANUARY 2023

Themes: NAACP Game Changers and Kindness, Fairness & Friendship

What: The annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Tribute Honoree Awards. Every year since 1990, Dubuque Branch NAACP has sponsored a tribute to Martin Luther King, Jr. for students in the Dubuque public and parochial schools to enter essays, art work, poems, books, songs, displays and powerpoint presentations for recognition.

When and Where: Sunday 15 January 2023

Gather at Jackson Park at 12:15 for a March beginning at 12:30 p.m. The Tribute awards ceremony will begin at 1:00 p.m. at St. Luke's United Methodist Church, 1199 Main Street. The event will also be livestreamed to https://youtu.be/DH2Yq78gLj8. An accessible entrance to the church without steps is located in the back off the alley.

For more information, email countess14@hotmail.com

Who: Area students, parents/guardians, teachers and all members of the community are invited to participate

Why: To celebrate student work honoring Dr. King and others who stood up against injustice with nonviolence.

After the event, the work of student honorees and honorable mentions will be displayed in the children's department at Carnegie Stout Public library from Tuesday January 17 to Sunday February 5.

This Event is sponsored by Dubuque Branch NAACP. Appreciation is extended to Carnegie Stout Public Library, Clarke University, Dubuque Community School District, First Baptist Church of Dubuque, and St. Luke's United Methodist Church.

NOTICE: Distribution of this flyer does not constitute an endorsement by the Dubuque Community School District. Any production or printing cost for these flyers was paid for by the sponsoring organization.

Honorees & Honorable Mentions 2022-23

Elementary Honorees

First Grade: Ben Leach (Bryant) Second Grade: Leah Seay (Prescott) Third Grade: Evie Davis (Bryant)

Clara Fry (Bryant)

Fourth Grade: Amira Williams (Prescott) Fifth Grade: Johanna McCready (Prescott)

Honorable Mentions:

Second Grade: Shai Jones (Prescott) Henry Parks-Schmidt (Prescott)

Third Grade: Carter Collins (Bryant) Zoey Leach (Bryant)

Fifth Grade: Conner Stoll (Irving) Elise Swartz & Ada Milligan (Irving)

Middle School Honorees:

Sixth Grade: Charlee Parr (Roosevelt)

Seventh Grade: Braiden Butler (Washington)

Rowan Fry (Washington)

Blake Meyer (Washington) Ayden Sainci (Washington)
Jeremiah Murriel, Jack Davidshofer & Blake Pergande (Washington)

Stella Walsh & Emma Daley (Washington)

Honorable Mentions:

Sixth Grade: Alex Calonder (Roosevelt)

Seventh Grade: Madeline Galliger & Nora Urban (Washington)
Lilly Boettner (Washington)
Adriana Smith (Washington)

Foster Del Toro, Lucas Smith & Tristan Hiatt (Washington)

High School Honorees:

Tenth Grade: Saanvi Ram (Hempstead) Eleventh Grade: Jaelyn Koenig (Alta Vista Campus) Twelfth Grade: Morgan Simon (Alta Vista Campus)

Honorable Mentions:

Eleventh Grade: Abby Herout (Dubuque Online School)
Twelfth Grade: Clara Gerhard (Alta Vista Campus)
Aunna Ryan (Alta Vista Campus)