DUBUQUE COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT Board Strategic Plan Update Session February 24, 2025

Vice President Wittman called the meeting to order at 4:31 p.m. at the Forum with the following members present: Bradley, Jacobitz-Kizzier, Jones, Hamel, Katie, and Wittman. Absent: Parks. Additional officers of the Board present: Mauss, Hawkins.

Moved (Bradley) and seconded (Jacobitz-Kizzier) to enter closed session as permitted by Iowa Code 21.5(1)(i) to evaluate the professional competency of an individual whose appointment, hiring, performance or discharge is being considered, when necessary, to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual's reputation and that individual requests a closed session. Upon roll call vote, motion carried 6-0. [Time-4:33 p.m.]

Moved (Bradley) seconded (Jones) to move to reinstate the rules of order and return to regular session. Upon roll call vote, motion carried 7-0. [Time-5:26 p.m.]

Vice President Wittman reconvened the meeting at 5:32 p.m. with the following members present: Bradley, Jones, Jacobitz-Kizzier, Wittman, Sainci and Jones. Additional officers of the Board present: Mauss, Demmer and Hawkins.

Moved (Bradley) and seconded (Jones) to approve the agenda as submitted. Motion carried 6-0.

Superintendent Amy Hawkins gave an update to the Board on the new 2024-2029 Strategic Plan. Hawkins and district staff spotlighted the following five priorities which included strengthen and systematize how the district tracks, monitors and shares student progress toward graduation, enhance instructional practices through dedicated focus on student growth and progression toward grade-level standards, enhance fundamental structures in place to reduce barriers to learning, and update districts 10-year capital facility plan with focus on student experience and financial efficiencies, and enhance the overall staff recruitment and retention systems in the district. Eleven of the action steps are on track, and two of them have been started.

President Parks declared the meeting adjourned at 6:19 p.m.

Carolyn Mauss, Secretary Board of Education